About Us


Community & School

Winston County formed in 1833, is located in the east central part of Mississippi and was once the home of the Choctaw Indians. Louisville, incorporated in 1882, is the county seat. In 1995, the population of Winston County was 19,723.

The first public school in Louisville was established in 1872. Winston County Schools and Louisville City Schools were consolidated in 1960 to become the Louisville Municipal School District.

The Louisville Municipal School District is comprised of all territory within Winston County and includes:

Fair Elementary School (Pre K-2)
Louisville Elementary School (3-5)
Eiland Middle School (6-8)
Louisville High School (9-12)
Nanih Waiya Attendance Center (K-12)
Noxapater Attendance Center (K-12)

Students in grades 10-12 are served by the Winston-Louisville Career and Technology Center.

Advanced placement courses are offered to all students across the district in  grades 9-12. 

All schools are accredited by the Mississippi Department of Education.

Louisville Municipal
School District
PO Box 909
Louisville, MS 39339